top of page

"Cab Ride To Venus" "Surfing In The South Bronx" Messages From Beyond The Mind.


21st Annual USA Novelty/Comedy Competition Exclusive to ReverbNation artists of all genres, the 21st Annual USA Competition is offering a free submission of one (1) song for two weeks only.


I've narrowed down my submission for the contest to Two Tunes:"Surfing In The South Bronx" and "Cab Ride To Venus". "Surfing In The South Bronx" features an entire band while "Cab Ride To Venus" is a solo production where I play all the parts (except for a session electric guitar player.) I'm sharing the work for feedback to make a final decision to Mambo Queen Ida Carlini, my friends in Mayaguez Puerto Rico Bryan López Figueroa and Majestic Times, Manager Maria Hernandez, Director for the one man show "Honking and Shouting" (Tuesday Night Comedy Host) Mark Philipp, Loisaida Book Publisher Steve Cannon (Gathering Of The Tribes), Amherst College friends Christine R Cain - Gary Lee, long time Hartford homeboys Orq Espada-Tony Tony Gonzalez plus two dozen more artists. This is not for an easy approval but I trust these men and women to give me an honest appraisal. It's a blessing to have friends who don't pull any punches when it comes to creativity. I utilize Music Theory I learn as a Salsa/Folkloric Performer to compose and structure the pieces but refrain from doing outright Salsa Arrangements. My material is 'Comedic Twisty Spoken Word' as I practice in my career as a Nuyorican Slam Poet. "Surfing In The South Bronx" Alpha Studios Albany NY. My ode to the Bronx, The Beatles, The Chip Munks on Acid, Phil Spector and AM 60's radio. "Cab Ride To Venus" is based on a 1990 Free Form Poem I write while being with the "Albany Poets." (I am featured in the Albany Anthology of Poets 1991 Published by Dan Wilcox). Originally enitled "La Poeta", I instead use the hook line in the piece plus edit a video to accompany the audio presentation. I tend to favor "Surfing In The South Bronx" for its loopiness. However, "Cab Ride To Venus" is way darker humor. The story of a twisted love affair based on a real life incident.


Presented by: Maria Hernandez Luis Chaluisan WEPAwebTV - New Edge Theater WEPAwebTV Roughrican Productions Rocker Roller Rican vlɒɡ Salsamagazine.com 2014 Recognition Awards WEPAwebTV - New Edge Theater Federico Chaluisan L.f. Chaluisan Batlle El Extreme Luis Chaluisan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Luis Chaluisan Salsa Magazine-WEPAwebTV RSS Feed
Luis Chaluisan Salsa Magazine
bottom of page